cookies & cream cupcakes

cookies & cream cupcakes

It taunted me. It stood silent, steadfast and regal on my grandma’s countertop, always at attendance. It was unfurled with extravagance from a hidden cupboard in my nan’s house. It appeared, covered in jewel-coloured florals and sheen, in giveaways. It popped up in various forms on various daytime cooking shows.

It’s a KitchenAid. A KitchenAid was taunting me.

IMG_2410

Long held in my heart as the pinnacle of cooking, the creme de la creme, the ‘I’ve made it!’ of baking prowess, it was the one item I coveted more than any. Want to know the way to my heart? Forget jewellery – it’s bakeware.

But due to its eye-watering price tag (particularly if you’re converting things from GBP to USD in your head) I never actually allowed myself to imagine owning one. That seemed like a far-off dream, one that required things like mortgages and possibly a retirement plan.

I have none of those things.

But, because I spend more time in my kitchen than is likely healthy (the lighting is poor – I mean, my eyesight is already pretty bad), I received a KitchenAid for Christmas. An actual working, living (well…), breathing (okay, not really) KitchenAid.

And I think I may have used it everyday since. Its real test, though, was its first cupcake-and-buttercream-frosting combo – and well, it performed.

Cookies & Cream Cupcakes 
YOU’RE GONNA NEED: a cupcake tin, cupcake liners, and strong willpower (to not eat the cookies)

Cupcakes:
3/4 cup softened butter
3 eggs, at room temperature
2 1/2 cups flour
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 3/4 cups sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 cups milk
About 6 crushed Oreo cookies

Frosting:
1/2 cup butter
1 tsp vanilla
4 cups powdered sugar*
1/4 cup milk
About 6 crushed Oreo cookies + extra for decoration

1. Preheat oven to 375F (190C). Line a cupcake pan with liners and set aside. Mix together the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl*.

2. Using an electric mixer, beat butter on high for roughly 30 seconds. Slowly add sugar, and beat on medium speed until well combined (the mixture should be a soft yellow colour). Continue to beat for another 2 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each. Add vanilla, beat.

3. Alternating, add the flour and milk mixtures and slowly beat after each (I like to start with flour, then milk and continue until ending on flour again).

4. Using a spatula, fold in crushed Oreo cookies. Pour batter into cupcake liners*. Bake for about 20 minutes, until tops are slightly golden and a knife/toothpick comes out clean. Let cool.

5. Prepare your frosting: beat together butter and vanilla with a mixer until soft and fluffy. Slowly beat in powdered sugar and milk until frosting is smooth and spreadable (you may need to add extra milk). Fold in crushed Oreo cookies using a spatula.

6. Frost cooled cupcakes with Oreo frosting. Top with halved Oreos. Eat.

*Tips:
When I say ‘powdered sugar’, I mean ‘icing sugar’, British friends.

Most recipes tell you to sift flour before using. Feel free to do this, but I generally don’t – it’s an extra step, and this cake goes through enough beating that there’s unlikely to be any remaining lumps.

I use a measuring jug to cleanly pour batter into cupcake liners. You don’t have to, but if you’re like me, it will end up MUCH cleaner than spooning in.

Notes:
Yellow cake recipe adapted from Better Homes & Gardens.

Leave a Reply

