sunday supplement: mint chocolate brownies

sunday supplement: mint chocolate brownies

I’ve always been relatively picky about my food. As a kid, that meant avoiding everything from ground black pepper to shredded coconut. And while I’m no longer prone to foodie aversion (okay, except the coconut…), mint and chocolate is a combination that just doesn’t do it for me.

IMG_2542

Maybe it’s the neon green dye so often used to indicate the flavour. Maybe it’s the toothpaste-and-chewing gum taste I associate with mint. Maybe it’s the terrible feeling of cold that floods my nose within the first seconds of a bite of an Andes chocolate. I don’t know where the hate comes from, but the only Peppermint Patties I appreciate come in the form of Peanuts, not chocolates.

IMG_2533-0

So why would I even make this recipe? Simple: my hatred of mint chocolate is superseded by my love of baking for others. And my taste-test panel agrees: this is a winner (and no toothpaste taste, either).

Mint Chocolate Brownies
YOU’RE GONNA NEED: an 8 inch square cake pan, parchment paper

1 cup hot chocolate powder
1 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
2 eggs, beaten
6 tbsp melted butter
1 tsp vanilla
About 1/2 cup mint chocolate candies, chopped (I used York Peppermint Patties)

1. Preheat oven to 350F (180C). Butter your cake pan and line with parchment paper to prevent sticking.

2. Combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Mix in eggs, butter and vanilla and stir until combined. Gently fold in chopped candies and spread batter into your prepared pan.

3. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean.

Notes:
Brownie recipe adapted from Epicurious.

Leave a Reply

