sunday supplement: flourless make-ahead breakfast oat muffins (three ways)

sunday supplement: flourless make-ahead breakfast oat muffins (three ways)

If there’s one thing that you should know about me, it’s that I’m a planner.

IMG_2581

That is, if I can get something done ahead of time, I’ve probably already done it. Sundays are devoted to preparing for the workweek: making lunches, choosing outfits, and most importantly, making breakfast.

Making sure breakfast is already waiting for me is crucial to my morning schedule – I mean, if I can grab and go I can sleep in, right? And although I’ve been a fan of the overnight oats method for awhile, these make-ahead muffins are even better – one batch on Sunday and I’m sorted all week long. Try all three, mix and match or stick to the original: no matter what you choose, they’re perfect for freezing ahead and munching en route.

IMG_2590

Flourless Make-Ahead Breakfast Oat Muffins
YOU’RE GONNA NEED: a muffin tin

3 cups rolled oats (or porridge oats)
2 ripe bananas, mashed
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 375F (190C). Grease a muffin tin with a light coating of cooking spray.

2. In a mixing bowl, cut the mashed bananas into the oats using a spatula. Add the remaining ingredients and stir together until well combined.

3. Separate the batter evenly between three bowls. Choose your method:

For berry-banana muffins, add about 1/4 cup each frozen blueberries and raspberries.

IMG_2584

For choco-peanut butter muffins, add 1 tsp cocoa powder and 1 tbsp peanut butter.

IMG_2583

For apple pie muffins, add 1 medium diced apple and 1/4 tsp nutmeg.

IMG_2582

4. Spoon batters into prepared muffin tin, filling about 2/3 full. Bake for about 20-25 minutes until golden and cooked through. Allow to cool in the tin for about ten minutes before turning out onto a wire rack. You should get approximately 6 of each variety.

Notes:
Recipe adapted from Seeking Shade.

2 thoughts on “sunday supplement: flourless make-ahead breakfast oat muffins (three ways)

  1. Hey there, Sarah! I know this is probably old school and not green, but I cook best when I have a paper copy of the recipe in front of me. Any way you can include a “print” button that would incorporate one of your fabulous pictures and just the ingredients and method? I plan to make these muffins today!! 🙂 Helene

    Like

    1. Good question! I’m not sure I can (since this is hosted on a blog site, I just use their tools) but I’ll look into it. Failing that you may be able to copy/paste the method and a picture into a Word doc to print if printing directly from your internet browser uses too many extra pages… A lot more work though, I know!

      Like

Leave a Reply

